

Wednesday, June 22, 2022 7:00 – 9:00 pm

Register

WATERMARK, PIER 15 | 78 SOUTH STREET, NEW YORK, NY 10038



(Click photo)

Featuring the recipient of the 2022 Wilfred C. Hulse Lecture Award

STEWART ADELSON, M.D.



Dr. Adelson is a faculty member at both Columbia's and Weill Cornell's medical schools, teaching, and supervising physicians in training since 1995. He also is a faculty member of the National LGBT Health Education Center of Fenway Institute. He is a senior visiting fellow at Yale Law School, where he is Founding Director of the Global Health Justice Partnership's Youth Equity Science or "YES" Project. The YES Program is a collaboration between mental health experts and human rights advocates that promotes US and international laws and policies that support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer or

questioning (LGBTQ) youth equity and wellbeing to help decrease rates of victimization, suicide, and other physical and mental health problems. Dr. Adelson and YES are working tirelessly to positively impact the lives of innumerable LGBTQ youth and their families. His professional interests include care for LGBTQ+ and other under-served youth. He has served in various clinical leadership roles in public psychiatry-oriented clinical programs for youth affected by HIV/AIDS, immigrant and homeless youth, and youth in foster care. He is lead author and editor of several peer-reviewed papers, chapters, and volumes on sexual and gender development, including AACAP's "Practice Parameter on Gay, Lesbian or Bisexual Sexual Orientation, Gender-Nonconformity, and Gender Discordance in Children and Adolescents"—one of the most downloaded articles of JAACAP. He is a Distinguished Fellow of both the APA and AACAP, a past recipient of AACAP's Presidential Scholar Award, and a recipient of the Dennis Anderson award of the Lesbian and Gay Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Association. Dr. Adelson and the YES Program were recognized with AACAP's 2021 Norbert and Charlotte Rieger Service Program Award for Excellence.

Congratulations, Dr. Adelson!