The committees, chairs, and descriptions of NYCCAP are:
Advocacy Committee
Gabrielle Shapiro, MD
Shervin Shadianloo, MD
Molly Gangopadhyay, MD 
Our Advocacy Committee is focused on having our voices heard by our state and federal legislators; we involve patients and families and attend legislative days in Albany and in Washington. Please contact Gabrielle Shapiro, MD at if you are interested in more info or becoming involved! Your voice matters!
Collaborative Care Committee
Annie Li, MD
Meri Weiss, MD
Molly Gangopadhyay, MD
Uri Meller, MD
Denise Leung, MD
ECP (Early Career Psychiatrists) Committee
Scott Shaffer, MD
Jennifer O'Keeffe, MD 
The Early Career Psychiatrist (ECP) committee’s mission is to plan events and programs that support the professional development of early career child and adolescent psychiatrists in New York city. The committee also aims to create networking opportunities. ECPs are child and adolescent psychiatrists who are within 7 years of their training.

International Committee
Khadijah Watkins, MD
The committee is to disseminate and promote the practice of child and adolescent psychiatry with a global perspective in mind. We provide the support needed for the council members to understand the state of child psychiatry internationally and establishing relationship and collaborating with other child psychiatrist from around the world. Our activities are planned with this goal in mind. For example, we assist our members in preparing projects and presentations abroad or nationally.
Communications Committee
Owen Muir, MD (2nd year)
The committee's goal is to support communication efforts and relationship building within the NY Council leadership and with members. It develops new communication mechanisms as needed to update our members on upcoming events and awards. It plans to coordinate and streamline communication efforts through the use of technology so members can provide feedback to the NY Council officers.
Membership Committee
Carolina Zerrate, MD
Victoria Pham, MD
Olga Leibu, MD

The committee strives to provide members with benefits and resources, promote members' participation, and increase membership through recruitment/renewal.
Medical Students Committee
Beth Belkin, MD
Byron Young, MD
Vera Feuer, MD
Yunan Nie (medical student)
Jose Vito, MD, Editor-in-Chief
Akeem Marsh, MD, Editorial Board Member
Shervin Shadianloo, MD, Editorial Board Member
Training Committee
Cathryn Galanter, MD
Oliver Stroeh, MD

The Training Committee develops and oversees New York Council activities related to psychiatry trainees. We work closely with the Members-In-Training (MIT) Committee, which is comprised of trainees. The primary aim of the Training Committee is to facilitate trainee involvement within the NY Council and the larger AACAP organization. We provide direct supervision for MIT committee, links trainees with mentors, provides leadership on NY Council trainee grant selection and sponsors events that are geared toward trainees.
MIT (member-in-training) Subcommittee of Training Committee
Jessica Simberlund, MD
Robert Dugger, MD
Owen Muir, MD (2nd year)
For more information, please email